Connect with us

Report an Invasive Species

Our Partners and Board of Directors

Who We Are

The Fraser Valley Invasive Species Society (FVISS) is a non-profit society made up of volunteer members representing local and provincial government, NGO's, First Nations, naturalist clubs, industry, and the interested public. Members are committed to reducing the negative impacts caused by invasive plants. We are one of a network of 17 regional invasive species councils throughout the province, and work closely with these other councils and the Invasive Species Council of BC.

Collaboration occurs with the following land managers:

  • Federal, Provincial, Regional, and Municipal Government
  • Pipe Energy Companies
  • First Nations
  • Naturalist clubs and environmental stewardship groups
  • Academic institutions
  • Private landowners
  • Other non-profit organizations

Our Funding Partners

The Fraser Valley Invasive Species Society has received funding from and collaborates with the following partners:

  • BC Hydro
  • BC Parks
  • Cultus Lake Parks Board
  • District of Hope
  • District of Mission
  • FortisBC
  • Fraser Valley Conservancy
  • Fraser Valley Regional District
  • Fraser Valley Watersheds Coalition
  • Ministry of Forests, Lands, and Natural Resource Operations
  • Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure

As well, the FVISS has received grants for specific projects from:

  • Vancity Community Project Grant
  • Province of BC Community Gaming Grant

Board of Directors

The FVISS Board of Directors consists of volunteer members from various stakeholder groups in the region.

Board Executive:

Renee Prasad, Chair, University of the Fraser Valley - Agriculture, ES Cropconsult

Ken Schwaerzle, Vice-Chair, Dairy Farmer

Nichole Marples, Treasurer, ED Langley Environmental Partnership Society

Directors at Large:

Janne Perrin, Retired Schoolteacher, Chilliwack Field Naturalist, Miami River Streamkeepers

Alida Janmaat, University of the Fraser Valley - Biology

Terisha Mitchell, Agassiz Research Station

Samantha Peters, Forest Technologist, Chawathil First Nation

Victoria Brookes, Plant Ecologist